Having a hard time understanding indexes RRS feed

• Question

• I have an Asset database I created that I use to track my physical and virtual assets. I recently created an assignment table to place physical assets that I got rid of so that I can still keep a record of owning the asset but it will show as being inactive for historical reasons.

The 'Inactive' table has two fields:

HardwareId datatype =  int = PrimaryKey

SerialNumber datatype = varchar(150)

I have a master table called 'Hardware' that has the matching fields:

HardwareId datatype =  int = PrimaryKey

SerialNumber datatype = varchar(150) = Unique Index

When I went to assign a Unique Index to the 'Inactive' table on the column 'SerialNumber' I noticed that the default column SQL Management Studio chose as the index column was the 'HardwareId' column even though I had the 'SerialNumber' column selected when I went to create the Unique Index.

Should I be leaving the index as HardwareId(ASC) for SerialNumber? I'm confused on how that works.

What I want is that the column 'HardwareId' in table 'Hardware' be a PK and in the table 'Inactive' be the PK and FK to the PK in Hardware.

I want the column 'SerialNumber' in table 'Hardware' to be Unique so that no one can assign that SerialNumber by accident to another hardware that may get added to that table.

Lastly, I want the column 'SerialNumber' in the 'Inactive' table to be a Unique constraint as well, but also an FK to the column 'SerialNumber' in the 'Hardware' table.

I appreciate any help I can get in understanding and fixing this! Thanks! :)

Thanks! Andrew

Thursday, July 19, 2012 2:54 PM

Answers