none
Typed Dataset or Custom Classes RRS feed

• Question

• Hey friends,

I am a VB developer, soon I am going to start a new project. It will be a client application, I will use a SQL server database.

I am used to use custom classes, I create my onw variables properties, events and methods.

I am aware of the Typed Data Set and thinking about using it on my new project. The problem is that  I have never used it,  I do not know the minuses and plusses of the Typed dataset. Now, my boss and me on the desicion phase, we want to implement the most efficient and easy maintainable one. If you ask me , I'm quite happy with custom classes :))

My opinion is that the custom class is better for performance purposses, because I  create properties and methods, only which I need. With the typed dataset there will be many property which I won't need,

Typed Dataset has a very big plus, it creates everything automaticly,    beside that I can create my own tool to create my custom classes, DAL and stored procedures.

Is there somebody can give me some idea on that?

When compared the custom classes and typed dataset, which one is better and why ?

Probably I will have to change my database during the project, maybe adding or removing fields... Therefore I also will have to change my classes, DAL and the stored procedures. It is very irretating to do such things in the midle of the project but  it is how it goes :)  Could you please consider this issue when aswering my question. Which one  is easy to maintain?

Please give me some good reasons to keep going with custom classes ;)

Thanks a lot...

Regards

Ayhan

Friday, December 1, 2006 10:00 PM

Answers