none
How do I transition an Excel addin to an app that will be published in the Office store? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Folks,

well I finally upgraded to VS2012, Office 2013 and Windows 8. I have an Excel addin that I distribute on a commercial basis but also have a free version available. Its a statistics package that was developed in VS 2010. When this addin is installed a new tab appears with lots of buttons where users can do various types of analysis within Excel. I have recently been advised to turn this Excel addin into an app that can be sold in the Office store. I am new to all of this and do not know where to start. It is not even clear to me that it can be turned into an app so I am keen for some advice.

For example, what type of project should it be? Are their examples out there in cyber land where an Excel app is basically a new tab on the ribbon with lots of buttons that do things? I see some potential in the app store as a new business model but right now I am pretty much a baby in the woods.

(you can have a look at my addin at www.statisticianaddin.com)

Thanks

Bernie

Bernie

Saturday, June 22, 2013 4:12 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hi Bernie,

Thank you for posting in the MSDN Forum.

App for Office is not designed to be a replacement for traditional Office solution. You can not always achieve what you can do with Office PIAs.

If you want to create Office Apps, you'll need to install Office Developer Tools for Visual Studio 2012 first.

Then, it's available by clicking "New Project"->"Templates"->"Office/SharePoint"->"Apps".

You can start from Build apps for Office.

Hope it helps.

Best regards,

Quist Zhang [MSFT]
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us
    Develop and promote your apps in Windows Store
    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.

• Marked as answer by Bernie Ok Monday, June 24, 2013 11:21 PM
    Monday, June 24, 2013 1:06 PM