none
Performing SQL query from my program and previous queries are being stored when I don't want them to be RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to C#, even newer to SQL and having a difficult time figuring out what I'm doing wrong.

I want to query a database and show only the current query in a datagridview.  Problem I'm having is that every time I run the query all previous queries are also showing in my datagridview.  Even if I completely close the program and start over.  Could someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong?

I should mention that I'm calling a 'stored procedure' ("usp_PopulationIndex") that my coworker was nice enough to set up for me.  This procedure takes only one parameter "Geo" which is a three character string.  Is it possible that there's something in that procedure that's doing this?  I don't want to bother my coworker about it unless it's definitely their error and not something I'm doing wrong...

string thisMarket = "ATL";
                using (SqlConnection connection = new SqlConnection("Data Source=vortex;Integrated Security=SSPI;Initial Catalog=Intropages"))
                using (SqlCommand cmd = new SqlCommand("usp_PopulationIndex", connection))
                {
                    cmd.CommandText = "usp_PopulationIndex";
                    cmd.CommandType = CommandType.StoredProcedure;
                    cmd.Parameters.AddWithValue("@Geo", thisMarket);

connection.Open();

SqlDataReader reader = cmd.ExecuteReader();
                    var dataTable = new DataTable();

dataTable.Clear();         
                    dataTable.Load(reader);

dataGridView2.DataSource = dataTable;

}

Thanks for reading :)

Joan

- Joan :)

• Edited by _Joan B_ Tuesday, November 3, 2015 4:40 PM typo
    • Moved by Kristin Xie Wednesday, November 4, 2015 6:25 AM move to appropriate forum
    Tuesday, November 3, 2015 4:39 PM

Answers

• Thanks to everyone for your help :)