none
VS 2015 VB, How to pass variable into ReportViewer Header Textbox RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to VS 2015 VB programming.  I have created a Report using ReportViewer to display a database table.  I am trying to pass a string variable into the Report to be displayed.

I have been looking a various web pages to help.  Most of the code shows setting parameters to pass the information.

In VS 2015 Report (*.rdlc file) Properties does not allow creating Parameters.

The Expressing property of the TextBox has a Parameter Category, but I do not know how to set.  

Any help would be appreciated. in creating the VB code to pass the string into the Report TextBox in Visual Studio 2015 Visual Basic.

Tuesday, May 23, 2017 11:35 AM

All replies

• Hi Alanzan,

According to your description, you would need to pass the report that variable as a parameter, then place the parameter field on the report.

More detailed step, please refer to:

http://visualbasic.ittoolbox.com/groups/technical-functional/visualbasic-l/passing-variable-value-to-reportviewer-in-vbnet-windows-form-3548401

Hope it is helpful to you.

Best Regards,

Cherry

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 3:10 AM
  • Cherry,

As I stated I am using Visual Studio 2015 Prof on a Window 10 operating system.

In the link you provided it states 'Place a Parameter field on the Report from the menu : Report >> ReportParameters >> Add >> give name as MyPar and Check AllowBlank Value, Select appropriate data type.'

I would like to add screen shot, but account still has to be verified.

The Report menu options are Report Properties..., View (Ruler, Grouping), Add Page Header, and Add Page Footer