Help with Db Design - Saving Exchange Data RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, i was wondering if anyone can help me out start a project, as im new to sql, i have a solid C background, and good understanding of complexity.

i wanna build a big database, now i can build it on my own using files,arrays, lists ,hashtables etc preety easily, however if i understand correctly ms sql will do it better than me, complexity wise.

the database will contain quotes from the Exchange market (NASDAQ for the record), i have access to historical data.

basically i will want to keep these fields StockName, dateTime, DataType, additional fields.

stockname is the stock name, datetime is the time of the event, datatype referes to what kind of data this table contains it can 1 min data, 1 sec data, 5 mins etc, diffrent kind of data all together (additional fields are diffrent). dataType is not needed if there is a diffrent table for each datatype.

i will want to querie diffrent things, for example X days of data for a stock, all stocks for a date etc. then i will analyze the data and proceed.

my question is basically how do i design this in sql, im not sure if its better to build one giant table for all data, diffrent tables for diffrent datatypes or for diffrent symbols, and also diffrent days. there are going to be a lot of records(thousands) for each day per stock. maby i shouold load to the sql my own c classes (after serialazation) with Datetime only etc. whats best in terms of complexity?

Thanks for your help and time!

Tuesday, July 26, 2011 1:08 PM

Answers

• Databases are thought of as sets of data, which is generally different than the way a coder thinks of programs. Databases are also optimized for data writing and retrieval, in a way that no single programmer can realistically match. Saying "i can do this myself" is the first step toward a poor design.