locked
What happen to existing keys which are using in the app, if i release second version of the app

    Question

  • Hi ,

    I have an app in store which is targeting windows 8.0, Here i have a doubt that my app using so many keys in local settings, I am going to release new version of the app into store, after user updates the app from store still my old keys will be exist or all existing keys will delete?

    The new version is targeting windows 8.1

    Thanks in advance.

    Tuesday, April 22, 2014 5:44 AM

Answers

  • Updating the app doesn't affect its local data. The local settings will be removed when the user uninstalls the app, not when the user updates it.

    --Rob

    Tuesday, April 22, 2014 5:53 AM
    Owner
  • note that when you deploy with Visual Studio sometimes the local data is getting cleared.

    Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer - Windows Store Apps Using C#

    Tuesday, April 22, 2014 6:19 AM

All replies

  • Updating the app doesn't affect its local data. The local settings will be removed when the user uninstalls the app, not when the user updates it.

    --Rob

    Tuesday, April 22, 2014 5:53 AM
    Owner
  • note that when you deploy with Visual Studio sometimes the local data is getting cleared.

    Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer - Windows Store Apps Using C#

    Tuesday, April 22, 2014 6:19 AM