none
How do I import missing/extra C# Template e.g. C# LibraryDLL into VS2015?

Question

• I've opened VS2015 and there are no C# Desktop templates (where I presume C# Library DLLs would be). I've DL-ed VS2010 samples but cannot see how to get VS2015 to know about them.

How do I create a C# Library DLL project? (I have been doing this for over 10 years on other computers, but not this one with VS2015 installed)

PS All I seem to have are Business Intelligence projects

Regards Brewmanz

Tuesday, March 21, 2017 2:01 AM

All replies

• Seems that you do not have the required components and probably need to install Visual Studio 2015. The Community edition is able to build Class Libraries and desktop applications in C#: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48146. But you can also install the recent version — which is Visual Studio 2017 — specifying “.NET desktop development” during installation.

Tuesday, March 21, 2017 5:27 AM
  • Hi Bryan,

Welcome to the MSDN forum.

Did you choose the Default or Custom installation when you install the VS 2015? The default installation includes C#/VB, Web and Desktop features, if you successfully installed the VS 2015 without any errors, when you try to create a new project, the windows should display like the following screenshot:

Please have a try with the following:

1. Please go to Control Panel-Programs and Features, right click the VS 2015 and choose Change-Repair to repair it, then open VS to check it.

2. Re-install the VS project templates as below, restart VS to check the template type.

• Please go to the VS 2015 installation location, usually locates C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\Common7\IDE
    • Delete the ItemTemplatesCache, ProjectTemplatesCache folder
    • Run Developer Command Prompt for VS 2015 as administrator and type the command devenv /InstallVSTemplates: 
    • Run the command devenv /Setup  

Best regards,

Sara

MSDN Community Support