datetimepicker known issue background/text color RRS feed

• Question

• hi there.

my name is catalin and i'm a c++ programmer.

in plain Win API, no MFC, no ATL,  i have to change background/text color of editing part of datetimepicker.

i cannot do it because unfortunately

- there is no WM_CTLCOLORXXX message,

- there is no child Edit control

NOTHING.

i sub-classed window procedure for nothing. it seems that all painting stuff is internally made. i cannot even get the selection so i can correctly draw the text somewhere else ...

i know this is an old issue but i ask again here.

is any resolution to this old problem ?

i hardly wait for an helpful answer.

regards!

Friday, August 19, 2016 12:37 PM

All replies

• Hi cg_progmgr,

thanks for posting here.

>>datetimepicker known issue background/text color                          

For the known issue, please connect to Microsoft to post an issue on it. Your understanding and cooperation.

>>i have to change background/text color of editing part of datetimepicker.

For this case, I suggest you use DateTimePicker::BackColor Property to set a value indicating the background color of the DateTimePicker control.

But note that , setting the BackColor has no effect on the appearance of the DateTimePicker. To set the background color for the drop-down calendar of the DateTimePicker, see the CalendarMonthBackground property.

You could write a custom control that extends DateTimePicker. Override the BackColor property and the WndProc method.

Whenever you change the BackColor, don't forget to call the Invalidate() method. This will force the control to redrawn using the new color specified.

Hope these could be help of you.

Best Regards,

Sera Yu

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.

Monday, August 22, 2016 6:07 AM