How to check if Message already exists in the queue and if message is processing currently RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone

I am new to Azure and worked on adding messages to the queue through workerrole1. Worker role 2 pulls them out from queue and processing them and de-queing them.

Worker role1 runs method gets called after every 10 seconds and puts messages in queue

CloudQueueMessage

message = newCloudQueueMessage(oAzureWorker.WorkerInstanceOf + "_"+ oAzureWorker.AgentId.ToString() + "|"+ ExecutionId.ToString());

queue.AddMessage(message);

Worker role2 runs method gets called after every 10 seconds too and checks the queue like this

foreach

(CloudQueueMessagemessage inqueue.GetMessages(20, TimeSpan.FromMinutes(5)))

{

// Process all (20) messages in less than 5 minutes, deleting each message after processing.

// Process message

queue.DeleteMessage(message);

}

Following are my questions

1) How do I check in worker role1 if the message is already in queue, Because I don't want to queue it back again if its not yet processed and is in the queue already

2) How do I check in worker role1 if the message is currently processing. Because I don't want to queue it back again.

3) How do I make sure that ALL the messages get processed in the order they are inserted. I know Queue is FIFO, but I know if the message gets delayed in processing another instance can pick it up, even if it gets picked up by another instance, I want to make sure that the order remains.

Right now the instances of both these worker roles are 1, in the future when we increase them, I don't want them to queue the same messages multiple times or queue them if the message is already in process mode.

Tuesday, December 30, 2014 8:04 PM

Answers