none
Get histogram from Database RRS feed

• Question

• I'm quite new to LINQ, and I'm looking for info on how to efficiently create a histogram from my database of events. I would like to create a function that takes a time period as input (the length of each bin) and returns a collection with the histogram data for each bin where the number of items is determined by (maxDate-minDate)/TimePeriod. E.g.:

Each event in the database looks like this:

[ID][DateTime][Type][..]

E.g.: [1][01.Dec.2010 02:10:44.232][Up]

I would like to make a function that e.g. returns the data for how many events have occured per day. I would also like to provide the size of the histogram bin programmatically, so I can easily change the bin sizes to 1 minute, 10 minutes, per day, 5 days, per month, etc. I manage to do this now by first querying for the first date and the last date in my database, then create a collection that divides this into e.g. 10 minute bins, then do a separate LINQ query for each bin.  

<pre lang="x-c#">public int GetDataForPeriod(DateTime fromTime, DateTime toTime, string osName)
    {
      var db = new LinqDBDataContext();
      var binSize = (from k in db.Actions
              where k.OperatorStation == osName &&
                 k.IsNavigationEvent == true &&
                 k.TimeStamp >= fromTime &&
                 k.TimeStamp <= toTime
               select k).Count(); 
      return binSize;
    }

For my set of data, this takes about 30 seconds when the collection holds 250 bins. I would like to find a more efficient query that does not run 250 LINQ queries to get this data. Any hints?
    Friday, November 19, 2010 2:58 PM

All replies

• Kristoh,

While this approach requires you to make multiple trips to DB and assuming that this information might finally get aggregaed as a report, I would suggest you to look at some more conventional ways like http://www.devx.com/dbzone/Article/38511.

Let us know if this doesn't fit your requirements

Regards,