none
best method to store data RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi,

I've a general development question, i'm new to programming.

I'm making an school information system, that would important student's information. What will be the best way to store this of data? I'm thinking of sql database. What are other possible choices i've?

Thank you,

Syed

Friday, March 14, 2008 5:50 AM

Answers

• B-trees and B+trees are structures often associated with databases.  I believe that the indexes in SQL Server are actually structured as B-trees.  They allow for very fast searching of data.

In your situation you'll need some type of database.  The type of database depends on many different factors.  If you do not have very much data you can get away with Microsoft Access.  That is a low end database solution that is very easy to use.  But as it grows in size you will run into problems.

If you're talking about storing over 500 MB of data I would recommend using SQL Server 2005.  You may be able to get away with SQL Express which is the free version.  But that is limited compared to the standard version.  You can access these sources programmatically or through some type of integrated development environment (IDE). 

You will have to create a user interface, Windows or web based that allows users to provide the information.  That information will be persisted to the database.  It can later be retrieved for modification, reporting, etc...

This is a very very high level description of what you need to do.  You should probably read up on different database design methodologies and programming strategies.  If you have more specific questions we might be able to assist you more directly.

Friday, March 14, 2008 6:25 PM

All replies

• Flat file, XML, serialized, b-tree, b+-tree: just a few I can think of off the top of my head Smile

How you store the data depends on many things:

• What kind of data do you have?
    • How often does it change?
    • How much data do you have?