How not async code in Windows Store app? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to Windows Store dev and all this "async" and "await" stuff.  The code below is sometimes "breezed over" or something where it doesn't run.  And then I'll have a function after it that is depending on it having first completed (i.e. in sync).

I tried simply removing "async" and "await" but it doesn't seem to like that.  What's the normal protocol here, please?

private async void EnsureOrCreateLocalFiles()
    {
        await KnownFolders.DocumentsLibrary.CreateFileAsync("myfile.txt");
    }

Thanks.

Tuesday, September 10, 2013 5:30 PM

Answers

• I'd return a Task from the method instead of void, and to await the call to this method in the caller.

private async Task EnsureOrCreateLocalFiles()
    {
    }

• Marked as answer by fiverc Tuesday, September 10, 2013 7:36 PM
    Tuesday, September 10, 2013 6:34 PM

All replies

• I'd return a Task from the method instead of void, and to await the call to this method in the caller.

private async Task EnsureOrCreateLocalFiles()
    {
    }

• Marked as answer by fiverc Tuesday, September 10, 2013 7:36 PM
    Tuesday, September 10, 2013 6:34 PM
  • As Ben already wrote, you should make this method a Task. The guidelines also state that awaitable methods should be named '...Async'.

This would make your method look like this:

private async Task EnsureOrCreateLocalFilesAsync()
     {
     }

Then you can either wait for this method to complete (as if it was synchronous) or call it asynchronously without waiting for it:

//prepare the file await EnsureOrCreateLocalFilesAsync(); //write to the file await WriteToFileAsync(); //prepare but don't wait Task prepare = EnsureOrCreateLocalFilesAsync();

//this will continue immediately

//but you can await it later...

await prepare;

Note that even if you don't want to wait for the Task, you should always catch the result with Task .. = ... or you would miss exceptions happening!