LINQtoSQL DBML file changable connectionstring RRS feed

• Question

• User-1329022387 posted

I am new to LINQ to SQL. I added a LINQ to SQL Class data item and connected via the Server Explorer. 

The issue I am having is that the code I am writing connects to one database server for testing and another for production. Normally, I just update the ConnectionString in the web.config file to the correct connection. However, in the class' .dbml file, the server info is hardcoded in. 

Is there a way to make this more changeable?

<Connection Mode="WebSettings" ConnectionString="IPAddress;Initial Catalog=DatabaseName;Persist Security Info=True;User ID=username" SettingsObjectName="System.Configuration.ConfigurationManager.ConnectionStrings" SettingsPropertyName="ConnectionStringName" Provider="System.Data.SqlClient" />
    Thursday, January 7, 2021 11:25 PM

All replies

• User-943250815 posted

DBML is for development only, it is used to create DataContext class that should be published.
    If you open DataContext Class you will see a Default Initializer pointing to Connection String name saved on web.config file (when you created Linq To SQL), there is also another Class Initializer where you can call using your own Connection String, in this case you can hard code it or load from web.config.

To get a ConnectionString from web.config you can use:

string myConStr = ConfigurationManager.ConnectionStrings["myConnectionName"].ConnectionString;

or

Dim MyConStr as string = ConfigurationManager.ConnectionStrings("myConnectionName").ConnectionString

Replace "myConnectionName" by name you had set in web.config
    And yes, you can set as many Connection Strings as you want on web.config file

Friday, January 8, 2021 12:55 AM
  • User-1329022387 posted