reading data from IMU RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I have just got a new xsense IMU and trying to read acceleration and altitude data from it.

I'm a novice to C# and MRDS but aware of OOP terminology, I have the accompnion documents of the device along with the dll.

however, I'm unable to run any of the funcations or do any communication with the device.

I imported the dll called CMT, there seem to be two interfaces (Imotiontracker, motiontracker) and a class (MotionTrackerClass). 

I tried to instantiate from the class but can not use the functions.

Here are the list of functions that I'm interested in:

CMTgetdeviceId, CMTopenport, CMTgetAcc and some more.

when I try to implement CMTgetdeviceId(out deviceId), an exception is thrown saying .....has been return from a call to a com component.

There is no specefic coding samples in the accompanying documents specially with C#

Is there any otherway I read data from this?

Saturday, June 23, 2012 9:42 AM

Answers

All replies

• Sounds like a cool piece of hardware! I just looked up the company's website--which sensor did you get?

It looks like they don't offer native .Net support (C#), but are providing a "COM" component instead (which is not uncommon), so there are several steps you're going to need to take.

First, I'd see if you can read sensor data using plain 'ol C++ in (not in .Net) on your computer. That way, you'll know for sure that the sensor and computer can talk to each other.

The next step will be to get .Net to call the COM object, perhaps as a simple .Net console application. Here's an overview of .Net's support for COM: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms973800.aspx Again, the goal here is just to make sure you're able to read data from the sensor into .Net.