none
Help with database design for archives inventory/database (Collections management) RRS feed

• Question

• (Previously posted on Microsoft Community - moderator suggested I post here instead)

Disclaimer: Access Noob (Been tinkering with it for less than a month at work with help from articles and tutorials)

Hi everyone,

I'm an intern tasked to refine an inventory survey form for a repository. The original design has each field in its own table, like, FormatHousingMedia, Additional Media, Condition Assessment, Recommended Treatment, etc. Example

Format

...Single sheet

...Bound material

...Unbound material

Media

...Pencil

...Iron gall ink

...Ballpoint ink

I would like to revise how we account for multivalued fields, like Media, Condition Assessment, Recommended Treatment. One record in the repository can have various media and various types of damages. The current form uses a checklist combo box for this, but this doesn't look like a good idea. When we export to excel for example, the values in the Condition Assessment field are separated by commas and there are very many different combinations of values.

Do let me know if you have an idea how this database should be designed... I would appreciate it very much, thank you!

P.S. New to Access

For more information, the fields needed in the inventory form are

Keyed In

• Accession number (but it references the accession number in the main inventory that includes location, title, source, etc.)
    • Width
    • Depth
    • Date of survey (Date function)

Chosen from a combo box, likely to be only a single value

• Format

Chosen from a combo box, likely to be multivalued

• Surveyor
    • Primary support
    • Secondary support
    • Condition assessment
    • Recommended treatment
    • Housing
    • Housing condition assessment
    • Housing recommended treatment
    • Media
    • Additional media
    • Foreign object
    • Foreign object condition assessment