Help needed - Creating a chat in C# RRS feed

• Question

• User-459263027 posted

Hi I am contructing a chat for my website with C# as a language and Sql Server 2008 Express as my backend.

An image of the chat which I have designed is here: [url]http://i440.photobucket.com/albums/qq122/kirbyofthestars64/chat.png[/url]

The chat's design is complete, however I need a bit of help with coding the chat to actually function, this is my first time building a chat from scratch.

I want the chat to be able to do the following things:

-In the largest div box under the word "Messages" that should be where the sent messages by users should appear.

-The text box bellow with the send button next to it should be where users can type a message then send it to display in the message div box.

-The help button in the top right hand corner of the chat should, when clicked by a user, display a help message in the chat. For example:

/t "username" message = send a private message to another user (quotations are necessary for users with spaces in their username).

/r message = send a reply to the last person to send you a private message.

/me text = does an emote (e.g. "/me is cool." = "yourusername is cool.")

-The My Status div that contains the dropdown list should have three selects for statuses: Ready to Brawl, Available, and Away. When Ready to Brawl or Busy are selected a small icon should appear next to the users name (user div box only, not the actual message box) that shows said status.

-The div box under "Users" should display the names and statuses (as mentioned above) of all the users in the chatroom (these users are logged in users on my site that are in the chatroom, so it would have to access existing users that are logged on and in the chat).

-It should have a private message function and /me function as displayed in the "Help button" section.