POS .net examples for Card Reader? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to POS .net and was curious if there are any code samples out there that pertain to USB card readers?

Monday, May 3, 2010 1:21 PM

Answers

• The short answer is the same code will work for both. The UPOS specification defines an abstration layer between the application and the hardware. This is in the form of an OPOS driver or Service Object. The changes to the code would be the OPOS / SO setup.

-Sean

www.sjjmicro.com / www.seanliming.com, Book Author - XP Embedded Advanced, XPe Supplemental Toolkit, WEPOS / POS for .NET Step-by-Step
    Monday, May 3, 2010 9:12 PM
    Answerer
  •  

Do you mean Magnetic strip reader? Or CF / SD cards?

The answer to the first is yes. (Some examples here: http://www.seanliming.com/WEPOS.html). The answer to the second is CF and SD cards are not POS devices.

-Sean

www.sjjmicro.com / www.seanliming.com, Book Author - XP Embedded Advanced, XPe Supplemental Toolkit, WEPOS / POS for .NET Step-by-Step
    Monday, May 3, 2010 5:43 PM
    Answerer
  • Have you tried the test application with the POS for .NET SDK?

How did you set the logical name for the MSR OPOS driver?

-Sean

Ok, I finally got it to scan a card.

The problem I encoutnered is that the "void myExplorer_DeviceRemovedEvent(object sender, DeviceChangedEventArgs e) & void myExplorer_DeviceAddedEvent(object sender, DeviceChangedEventArgs e)" doesn't ever get fired so to make it work I had to add this following line of code "myMSR.DataEvent += new DataEventHandler(myMSR_DataEvent);"

Can you tell me why the other two event's wouldn't fire?

How is it possible to convert this for a website instead of a web form?

Tuesday, May 4, 2010 4:14 PM

All replies

•  

Do you mean Magnetic strip reader? Or CF / SD cards?

The answer to the first is yes. (Some examples here: http://www.seanliming.com/WEPOS.html). The answer to the second is CF and SD cards are not POS devices.

-Sean

Monday, May 3, 2010 5:43 PM