none
CE 5.0 device bogs *way* down when cell reception bad - can't replicate RRS feed

• Question

• Folks, I really hope you can help me out here. 

We have a software package that is running on a Windows Mobile 5 device (sorry, I am not all that clear when it is right to call it CE or Mobile or what version applies where ;p).  In any case, we are sending data intermittently to a server via http, using the GPRS on the device.  The problem is is that the places where this device is being deployed have very bad reception.  The device as wa whole becomes almost unusable when this occurs.  One of the problems is that I can't replicate the problem here in California in the SF Bay area.  I am experimenting with bandwidth throttlers to see i I can't bring up the problem, but no luck so far.

I am an old-school game programmer, optimization is not a problem...but I can't do it unless I can actually know what's going on.  The problem is bad enough that the client is currently taking the SIMM cards out so that they don't even *Try* to use GPRS, but that still doesn't give me a whole bunch of insight into the problem.

Does anyone know of a good tool that will simulate a really poor connection?  I am currently trying to replicate the problem with the device cradled, using my PC for it's Internet connection, and using a tool to throttle my PC's bandwidth.  I'm not very happy with this as it isn't a true indicator of what may be going on, and I don't want to fix something that isn't broken.

Also useful would be a way to monitor the data rate and QOS directly (in code would be nice), so any leads on that would help also

Thanks,

Sean

Wednesday, July 11, 2012 6:21 AM

Answers

• Paul,

Windows Mobile 5.  The confusion is because of the various versions of Windows Mobile, .NETCF, and WindowsCE.