none
Implementing a light weight filter driver on NDIS 6.3 RRS feed

• Question

• We have a light weight filter driver that runs successfully on Windows 7/ Vista. Now we need to port this driver on NDIS 6.3 Windows 8. The driver has been compiled properly on Windows 8 using Microsoft Visual Studio 2012 without any modifications in the code.

However as there are many enhancements corresponding to NDIS 6.3, we need to implement our driver for NDIS 6.3.  But as I can see for msdn docs, virtualization & power management enhancements are in miniport drivers. So I am a bit confused as do we need to have changes in filter driver also. I am new to Windows development. So please suggest.

• Moved by Mike Danes Monday, May 6, 2013 7:08 AM driver related
    Monday, May 6, 2013 6:57 AM

Answers

• Actually Don, that link is for WFP callouts, which aren't quite related here.

There are very few changes required for a filter driver to port from 6.20 -> 6.30. Basically you need to implement all the 6.20 requirements, and additionally:

* Define the preprocessor macro NDIS630, and remove NDIS60 or any other NDIS## definitions (read the top of ndis.h).

* When calling NdisFRegisterFilterDriver, set NdisMinorVersion to 30 in your filter driver characteristics block. (Or set it to NDIS_FILTER_MINOR_VERSION and it will always be updated automatically).

* Make sure you're compatibile with No-Pause-On-Suspend.  For a LWF, this means you should not wait on packets in NetEventSetPower.  (Many filters already do not wait, so there is no changes required.  For the remaining filters, it's usually sufficient to just comment out a call to KeWaitForSingleObject.)

Tuesday, May 14, 2013 7:59 PM

All replies

• Just like there is a page on msdn that explains Porting of NDIS 6.x filter drivers to NDIS 6.20, is there any guide that helps in porting NDIS 6.x filter drivers to NDIS 6.30 . Please help.
    Monday, May 6, 2013 8:15 AM