Publishing to HostGator RRS feed

• Question

• User154499744 posted

I believe I put in all the correct values for the Publish Settings. But after I go through the publish steps, I do not see anything on the site. Can someone please hele me figure out what I did wrong?

I did call support at HostGator and they are saying they don't see anything deployed on their side. I'm very new at this, so I have no idea what to look for.

Sunday, August 30, 2015 11:17 PM

Answers

• User379720387 posted

Yes, you need to be on a Microsoft server with WebMatrix.

Ask them to provide you with a publish profile for Web Deploy. If they support Web Deploy, they can generate that publish profile for you.

That will be the quickest test to see if they really support it.

The link below shows the instructions on how to set it up if you had server access. Since you don't they will need to do that.

http://support.hostgator.com/articles/hosting-guide/lets-get-started/windows-dedicated-hosting/web-deploy-web-deployment-tool

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Monday, August 31, 2015 3:27 PM

All replies

• User1992938117 posted

I did call support at HostGator and they are saying they don't see anything deployed on their side. I'm very new at this, so I have no idea what to look for.

I am not sure how you are publishing your site but i would recommend you to publish your site in file system locally then upload using any ftp client as FileZilla.

If you are using VS 2013 -15 then follow below steps to publish site locally. 

1. Right click on project in Solution Explorer
    2. Click Publish
    3. Under Profile select <New Profile>
    4. Create profile name (can be anything, dev.domainname.com)
    5. Under Connection > Publish Method > select File System
    6. Enter the Target location \\server\sharedfolder\
    Monday, August 31, 2015 12:15 AM
  • User154499744 posted