Workflow help - complicated cross-lookup in a OOB Group Work Site RRS feed

• Question

• I’m somewhat new to workflows and I’m trying to construct something that is much more complicated than I was originally expecting.

Setup:

• I have a Group Work Site using the OOB Calendar for booking items from the built-in Resources list.
    • I have added custom columns to the Resources list:  Equipment Owner (person) and Equipment Location (choice/string).

Here is what I am trying to accomplish:

When a new reservation is created on the Calendar, I want to do the following...

Look up what Resources have been booked, and email the corresponding Equipment Owner(s) notifying them that a new reservation has been made, including details from the reservation (such as Start time & Created By fields). 

• If there are 3 items with Owner A and 1 item with Owner B, both owners should only get one email with a list of reserved equipment in the email (rather than getting a single email for every Resource that has been booked).
    • I have not figured out how to do this, since it needs information from two different lists (Calendar & Resources), and there is a potential for multiple Resources to be booked on a single reservation.

Specifically, here are my questions: how do I look up which equipment has been booked?  How do I gather a list of Equipment Owners for the email I want to generate?  How do I include these fields (Resources, Equipment Owners) in the To and Body fields of my workflow email?  How do I include reservation event/calendar fields in the same email?  Should I make the workflow on the Calendar list or the Resources list?

When the equipment is due (reservation End Time has been reached), I want to do the following...

Email the reservation creator (Created By in Calendar list) notifying them to return the equipment to the Equipment Location (Resources list).