none
How to add Drivers Manually RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I'm fairly new to ICE and WES7, but think I'm coming along ok.

I've done my target analyzer and have my pmq file. It finds and loads everything except for the touch screen (pen mount) drivers.

The setup.exe for this pen mount driver will not work correctly if I just run it. I have to browse to the correct .inf to install the drivers. So question is how do I put those inf files somewhere where it can automatically detect and install them?

Thanks in advance...

Wednesday, October 12, 2011 3:35 PM

Answers

• pnputil.exe and dpinst.exe can help you.
    "Mark/Propose As Answer" if you got one.
    • Marked as answer by waparson Friday, October 14, 2011 4:08 PM
    Wednesday, October 12, 2011 3:59 PM
  • I have not used the create IBW build from answer file before, I use just a full DS and add different answer files to it allowing me to have just one UFD for all my configurations. I'm sure it pulls it all in like it is suppose to, you can check by opening the UFD and going to;

DS\$OEM$ Folders\Custom\$OEM$\$$\...

You'll need to create folders named $$ or $1 under your $OEM$ folder. The $OEM$ folder itself does not point to any folder in windows.

Full path for my wallpaper on UFD

%DRIVE%\DS\$OEM$ Folders\Custom\$OEM$\$$\Web\Wallpaper\

"Learning without thought is labor lost; Thought without learning is perilous." Confucius
    Thursday, October 13, 2011 3:14 PM

All replies

• pnputil.exe and dpinst.exe can help you.
    "Mark/Propose As Answer" if you got one.
    Wednesday, October 12, 2011 3:59 PM
  • You can add them to the $OEM$ Folder in the DS you are using. For a quick reference please see KNARZ's answer to the following thread... 

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en/quebeceefs/thread/89ab31b3-6eac-4c2e-9e34-f7f02d71e84f

Also as Sean says in the thread you can also find more information in the online help or the embedded help. See below for online help instructions.