none
Autopopulate a table with blank fields every time another table adds a field RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to access and am wondering if this is possible. Basically, I have a main table where the majority of info goes. But then there needs to be a second table with additional information. I want to make it so every time a new record is added to Table A, a blank record also gets added to Table B, so that when editing in a form, the user can have the option to click a button and see that additional info.

That, or is it possible to match only specific records in Table A that get populated with the additional information in Table B without all the blank records?
    Friday, November 8, 2019 3:36 PM

All replies

• To do what you want the relationship type between the two tables would need to be one-to-one, with the table holding the main data as the referenced table in the relationship type.  However, a one-to-one relationship type is used when modelling type hierarchy.  This is where an entity can be a member of two or more entity types, one being the (super) type, the others being sub-types.  Chris Date gives the example of Programmers as a (super type) with System Programmers and Application programmers as sub-types.  A sub-type is characterized by sharing all attributes of its (super) type, but not those of other sub-types.

In your case this does not seem to be the case, with the two tables not modelling different entity types, but merely two subsets of the attributes of a single entity type, in which case all of the attributes can be represented by columns in a single table.  An appropriate interface for this would be a form in which the subset of main attributes is represented by controls in one page of a tab control, with the auxiliary subset of auxiliary attributes represented by controls on another page of the tab control.