none
interfacing com data into excel RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have a project where i need to receive some data(approx 50 ascii 2 bytes) that comes into a serial com port vis USB and enter it into an excel spread sheet. I have a C++ program that reads the data successfully using Microsoft Foundation classes but requires DLL files to be included with the .exe file. I have Visual Studio ver 8 Standard Edition for development.

Ideally I would like to have the reading of the data integrated into an Excel application program and have the data put into cells in the spreadsheet. It has to work on variuos versions of Excel and Windows XP or 7.  What is the best simple solution today to do this?  My head is spining looking at the various solutions I see on the web. I am not a PC programmer, but I do embedded C++ programming for micros. ie, I'm looking for simple solutions.

Thanks,

Wednesday, June 20, 2012 4:20 PM

Answers

• This get me a bit confused. If you're not PC programmer, I think some concepts in C++ could be hard for you (for example, conversion between string types... C strings and OLE strings are not the same.) 

If I were you, I may go code in C#/VB.NET, or even VBA scripts to focus on the problem (It's right that VBA can't flexibly read from serial ports, if you rely on samples on the web, you may find enough code to hack up a C++ program that reads serial port, generates corresponding VBA script file, and run cscript.exe to execute it).

If you insist to go C++, you may find this sample helpful kickstart. The sample uses Office 2003 but after reviewing a bit, it does nothing uncommon so most code there should work across versions.

Friday, June 22, 2012 3:29 AM
    Answerer

All replies

• VS2005 comes with PIA for Office 2003/2007. Just add reference to your project to use the earliest version you wish to support.