none
regex pattern help RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am trying to use regex to determine card hands in poker (texas holdem)

If Regex.IsMatch(player_string, "3[a-t_1-9]{1}") Then
                MsgBox("3 of a kind")
            ElseIf Regex.IsMatch(player_string, "2[a-t_1-9]{2}") Then
                MsgBox("2 pair")
            ElseIf Regex.IsMatch(player_string, "2[a-t_1-9]{1}") Then
                MsgBox("single pair")
            End If

However it incorrectly matches and shows a msgbox when there are no pairs (overall, does not work)

What should the pattern be?? I am new to regex so forgive me if this is a noob type question ;)

the string passed to it (player_string) is made up of single digit/letters of the players 2 cards plus the dealers 5 (i.e. a 2, 3, 5, 6, jack, king, 10 would equal a string of: 2356jkt)

Any help is appreciated!

thanks for your time,

Josh

Sunday, July 22, 2012 5:48 AM

Answers

• I think you need to use backreferences.  I have never used them before, so I'll leave the tryout to you.  http://www.regular-expressions.info/refadv.html.  I think something along the lines ([2-9TJQKA])\1\1 for 3 of a kind, one less backreference for a pair, etc.

NOTE:  You may need to pre-sort the string for the RegEx to work.

Jose R. MCP
    Code Samples

• Edited by webJose Sunday, July 22, 2012 8:33 PM
    • Proposed as answer by Mike FengModerator Monday, July 23, 2012 10:24 AM
    • Marked as answer by jmonkey610 Tuesday, July 24, 2012 9:05 AM
    Sunday, July 22, 2012 7:11 PM
  • Having the string 23656KT you should be able to extract the pair of sixes there.  BUT if you try you'll fail.  This is because the RegEx is not programmed to search a match on every other possible position in the string.  The RegEx I gave you requires immediate repetition.  Therefore the string needs to be re-written as 23566TK (sorted by value) so the sixes are next to each other.

Jose R. MCP
    Code Samples

Monday, July 23, 2012 1:27 PM

All replies