How to overlay user control over stackpanel and grid bounds, without losing scrolling? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm relatively new to Blend, and am freaked out by the following problem:

I have a grid (called MainGrid) on a page. The first row of MainGrid contains a horizontal StackPanel called TopStackPanel. The heights of the rows in MainGrid are relative (e.g. "0.2* for the first row). The height of anything else is Auto. I have a border round the first row of MainGrid. Since I programmatically add N instances of a user control called OverlayControl to TopStackPanel, TopStackPanel has a horizontal scrollviewer.  OverlayControl consists of a treeview with a border round it.

My problem is the following: the treeviews in some OverlayControl instances in TopStackPanel may be too large to be fully visible in the available height of the TopStackPanel cell. If that is the case, I want the user to be able to "slide" open only that specific OverlayControl. By "slide" I mean that the height of that specific OverlayControl should increase, and overlay the information displayed in the other MainGrid rows. NB: The height of the first row of MainGrid should remain the same.

I have experimented with the following:

(1) I tried wrapping my OverlayControl in a canvas. If I put my OverlayControl directly into the first row of MainGrid, and toggle the ClipToBounds property between True and False, it does slide open and close. Hooray!

(2) But, if I put my OverlayControl into TopStackPanel, with ClipToBounds=False, I can see the control, although it has not slided open. And with ClipToBounds=True I don't see the control at all!?!?