none
Certificate Error during compiling C# Application

Question

• Hello,

I am new to the MS Visual Studio environment, and try to compile an simple application. Below is the error I got. I have read, that this may have somethings to do with the installed .NET. All entries about .NET are 4.5.x or 4.6.x under installed programs.

I am using VS Express 2015 for Desktop and also VS Studio 2015 Community Edition.

BTW what is the difference between bot environments? Which one I can uninstall? I just want to make simple windows application in C#. I am basically learning C#.

Here is the error, I got:

An error occurred while signing: Failed to sign bin\Debug\app.publish\Generic HID UI.exe. SignTool Error: No certificates were found that met all the given criteria. PSoC USB Data Transfer Application

Monday, August 1, 2016 7:32 AM

Answers

• Hi,

if you can use the Community Edition then you should stick to that and drop the Express Edition (Limitation is mainly, that it cannot be used in enterprises that exceed a given size).

And the signing problem: Please check the signing tab inside the project properties and make sure to have a valid certificate there (so it must be a code signing certificate that is not expired) or deactivate the signing.

With kind regards,

Konrad

• Marked as answer by DelSigADC Tuesday, August 2, 2016 5:40 AM
    Monday, August 1, 2016 11:24 AM

All replies

• Hi,

if you can use the Community Edition then you should stick to that and drop the Express Edition (Limitation is mainly, that it cannot be used in enterprises that exceed a given size).

And the signing problem: Please check the signing tab inside the project properties and make sure to have a valid certificate there (so it must be a code signing certificate that is not expired) or deactivate the signing.

With kind regards,

Konrad

• Marked as answer by DelSigADC Tuesday, August 2, 2016 5:40 AM
    Monday, August 1, 2016 11:24 AM
  • Hello Konrad,