none
recalculate cells in a worksheet created with openxml2 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

i'm relatively new to openxml2 technology, but i'm able to write data into cells. actually i have a template xlsx file, with headers, formulas in the cells, conditional formatting, etc; so i just need to enter my data into the relevant cells, and that's it.

i don't have any issue with writing data into the cells, but the formulas are not recalculating. i'm able to recalculate the cells, if i go there press F2 to edit the cell, and press Enter to acknowledge. then all other referenced cells are re-formatted, updated.

how can i perform the same with openxml?

i've read the Problems with Open XML 2.0 SDK and Formulas thread, there excel services, and sharepoint is suggested, but this is not an option for me.

any help is appreciated!

thanks in advance!

Ivan
    Friday, July 1, 2011 11:09 AM

Answers

• Let me clarify, if you create a file with OpenXML and you set the force recalculate flag, when you open the file in Excel the program will (as expected) recalculate all formulas. In other words Excel is updating/modifying the file loaded in memory. Since it has a workbook in memory that isn't equal to what's on disk (as far as Excel is concerned), it asks the users if they want to save the changes.

ClosedXML - Create Excel files in .Net
    • Marked as answer by Ivan Horvath Monday, July 11, 2011 10:53 AM
    Tuesday, July 5, 2011 5:08 PM

All replies

• The calculation mode is probably set to Manual...

Workbook workbook1 = workbookPart1.Workbook;

CalculationProperties calculationProperties1 = workbook1.GetFirstChild<CalculationProperties>();
          calculationProperties1.CalculationMode = CalculateModeValues.Auto;

Sunday, July 3, 2011 5:53 AM
  • thanks for your reply

actually it seems your code works, but i found another solution

_SpreadSheet.WorkbookPart.Workbook.CalculationProperties.ForceFullCalculation = true;