none
What bits do I use to make it happen?

Question

• Hello, all.  I'll start by stating up front, that I am not a programmer.  I work in a law enforcement job, as a shift supervisor.  Part of my duties is to assign my Officers to duty stations based on their abilities and experience.  On any given day, I have to  assign approximately seventy-five officers on a work roster.  Each day's roster has to be different, so that people don't complain about being stuck in one station all the time.  As you can imagine, making up rosters takes considerable time, especially when you add in the factors of time off, Officers out sick or on leave, etcetera.  Of course, I've looked for rostering software all over the internet, but none of it quite works for my needs.

So, I did what any level-headed, sane person would do...I thought to myself, "Heck, I'll learn to program and WRITE ONE MYSELF (cue deafening gales of laughter)!"  How hard could it possibly be, I thought?

Obviously, I'm in WAAAAAY over my head.  Still, the struggle is the glory, so I'm soldiering on.  I dug around online, did a bunch of tutorials, and then stumbled blindly onto Visual Studio 2015.  I've learned enough, so far, to create a SQL database and to create a front-end form/application with which to view the individual records and add/edit records in it.  Looking at the rest of what I'm trying to do, it looks like I'm past the easy part (D'OH!).

From here, I need to figure out how to make an application look at the database and randomly pick names for each duty station.  BUT, I have to have it compare the duty station for which the name was chosen to a set of capabilities outlined for each officer (I included fields in the DB for different capabilities).  If the officer isn't qualified for it, the app needs to pick someone else.  Also, the application needs to recognise when a name has already been used, and not generate duplicate selections.