Help Please. How do you edit an already established site? RRS feed

• Question

• So I just got a job, right out of college no less! But my degree is in admin not web developing. If my organization already has a website started, how do I begin to edit it? Do I import the website? When I originally tried to edit the site, I got a warning letting me know I did not have the passwords for the site. I have purchased MS Expressions Web 4 online and downloaded it. It says it comes with tutorials but I am having trouble identifying them in my tutorial file that came with the download. Anyone else have that problem? I have little knowledge of web development and purchased this in the hopes I would not hav to learn HTML code, though even that is getting easier after 3days of studying on my own. What is the first step in editing an already established site? I don't have any info on it except that a previous employee out of India created it. Where do I start? I have only worked this job for 3days and want to make a good impression. Right now I have a .dwt that looks really good! I have some hyperlinks in place as well, but need to know if I am on the right track. I need to figure out how to layer, too. So let's start with how to edit an already existing website without passwords.

Thank you for all your help!

Monday, January 3, 2011 4:09 PM

All replies

• How do we know that you are not trying to hack into someone's website? No one here is going to tell you how to bypass the password prompt to edit a website.
    Monday, January 3, 2011 5:00 PM
  • Where is the site? Is it live on a web server? Is it on your computer? Is it on a network drive?

Is the dwt from the site that exists or is it one you made as you experimented and learned?

If the site is already on the web, publish it down to your own computer in order to work on it (yes, "publish" to your own compuetr sounds wrong, but in EW you can publish both ways). Info is in the Help file.