none
ADF - REST Connector - Pagination Rules - Dynamic Content RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I'm new to ADF and am exploring pulling data from a RESTful API that uses pagination using REST connector. I can pull data from the first result page, but I don't seem to be able to work out how to correctly configure pagination to pull the full data set returned. Part of the challenge is that the API used does not conform to basic assumptions of how ADF REST operates according to documentation. I've been through ADF documentation, MSDN forums, O'Reilly Learning platform and Google and could not find any useful answers to my question. 

I'm trying to pull data from Zendesk Support API using Incremental Export endpoint:

https://developer.zendesk.com/rest_api/docs/support/incremental_export#pagination

This endpoint helpfully provides a return value of 'next_page' URL that could be passed into AbsoluteURL variable under Pagination Rules, however, instead of returning null when it reaches the last page, it returns URL to be used for next scheduled export. ADF REST docs state: 'The connector will stop iterating when it gets HTTP status code 204 (No Content), or any of the JSONPath expression in "paginationRules" returns null.' Effectively my call to Zendesk API gets stuck in an endless loop and then errors. I could use another return value 'count' to determine if the returned page is full or partial. If a partial page is returned, this signals exit condition. 

I was trying to create a dynamic expression for AbsoluteURL to return 'next_page' if full page returned and null if partial. I don't seem to figure out how to do this. Is this even possible? Are there any other approaches I can try? There seem to be some suggestions of using ForEach with HTTP Connector, but this assumes I have a list of items to pass into ForEach, which I don't (and haven't yet found a way to dynamically create this from other available Zendesk API endoints). 

Any pointers would be much appreciated.