Filter sample to redirect packet RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone,

I'm new to developping drivers and I wanted to modify the Sample NDIS filter driver so that it redirects incomming packet to a different IP.

Now I don't really understand where the IP is located in the NET_BUFFER, but in another thread I found this:

At INBOUND_IPPACKET --

1. Retreat oiginal NBL/NB by size of inMetaValues->ipHeaderSize
    2. make a clone
    3. Advance the clone by size of inMetaValues->ipHeaderSize
    4. call NdisGetDataBuffer, and this should now point to the TCP header
    5. modify the port; adjust the TCP checksum.
    6. Retreat the clone by the same amount as 3.
    7. Advance the original by the same amount as 1.
    8. FwpsInjectNetworkReceiveAsync0
    9. block and aborb the original NBL.

At INBOUND_TRANSPORT_/DISCARD --

1. Retreat oiginal NBL/NB by size of inMetaValues->ipHeaderSize + inMetaValues->transportHeaderSize
    2. make a clone
    3. Advance the clone by size of inMetaValues->ipHeaderSize
    4. call NdisGetDataBuffer, and this should now point to the TCP header
    5. modify the port; adjust the TCP checksum.
    6. Retreat the clone by the same amount as 3.
    7. Advance the original by the same amount as 1.
    8. FwpsInjectTransportReceiveAsync0
    9. block the original NBL.

I know that I don't need to recalculate the TCP checksum if I simply change the destination IP (Only the IP checksum I believe), but that's of later concern :P

In every related example I see people cloning the Netbuffer first, and later inject it again. Would I have to do this for my situation as well or can I directly change the data in the netbuffer?

Thanks, lordstyx.

[edit]

I didn't realize that this forum is not about WDK.. I'm talking about a NDIS sample filter that came with the WDK..

Friday, August 6, 2010 8:34 PM

All replies