Form in ASPX to MySQL DB RRS feed

• Question

• User943374005 posted

I have started a website on Visual Studio using Visual C#. ASP.NET Web Forms Site.  I also have a MySQL database that I would like the form I create to alter.  I have the form, here's a snippet: 

<form id="form1" runat="server" method="post" action="dbconnect.cs">
        <div>
            <label>Type the project title here</label>
            <br />
            <textarea id="projectTitle"></textarea>

I know I don't have the code right for the action because I'm new to this, although I have gotten the dbconnect.cs to change the MySQL db on it's own by hardcoding it.  I just don't know how to make the connection between the form and the dbconnect.cs.

I'd like to be able to do an INSERT for my database when I go to dbconnect.cs.

dbconnect.cs snippet:

using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Text;
    using System.Windows.Forms;
    using System.Diagnostics;
    using System.IO;
    //Add MySql Library
    using MySql.Data.MySqlClient;

namespace ConnectCsharpToMysql
    {
        class DBConnect
        {
            private MySqlConnection connection;
            private string server;
            private string database;
            private string uid;
            private string password;

//Constructor
            public DBConnect()
            {
                Initialize();
            }

//Initialize values
            private void Initialize()
            {
                server = "servername";
                database = "databasename";
                uid = "username";
                password = "password";
                string connectionString;
                connectionString = "SERVER=" + server + ";" + "DATABASE=" + database + ";" + "UID=" + uid + ";" + "PASSWORD=" + password + ";";

connection = new MySqlConnection(connectionString);
            }

//open connection to database
            private bool OpenConnection()
            {