none
High speed an availability query system RRS feed

• Question

• Hi folks!

I have some experience designing and building traditional normalized systems (business systems to maintain entities and its CRUD operations) and now i have a new challenge ahead. My team is working in a project of an e-commerce application wich will need high availability and query speed. We're talking in querying about over 3 millions rows in database with lots of relations and more than 100 thousand users per day.

We've built backend system to manage all products that will be avaliable at the website using normalized database and

now we're going to start website development. I did some research and found that i have to denormalize this products database with some ETL process in order to be able to make fast searches.

Other requirements are: ordering columns, grouping them and lots of filters.

The problem is that i have no idea of how do it, so i need help from the more experienced guys in here.

Thank you for all help!

ps: sorry for my poor english

Wednesday, April 16, 2008 4:23 PM

Answers

•  

Hi

like said before you can do a few things, off the top of my head:

database level

- split read and write databases (sql server 2005 has a number of features for this)

- create denormalized databases for reporting

- create indexed views for the most common of queries

- create a seperate db for etl purposes, than update the write db.

application level

- use caching of the results + caching of asp.net pages

- don't use viewstate

- application state in sql server

- use connection pooling for the db

physical level

- cluster web & db servers

- non sticky load balancing

Hope this helps you out

Thursday, April 17, 2008 9:04 AM
  • There quite a nice article in the latest MSDN mag covering some of this if you get that, I don't think it's online yet.

Thursday, April 17, 2008 10:19 AM

All replies