Using a directshow rtp filter as virtual webcam? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I'm a newbie in this field, although i dont like to say that... :-S

I want to stream a video from a second pc to my mobile notebook. I then want to decode the stream and use it like a webcam.

A directshow filter which sould be capable in decoding an rtsp stream was found here:
    http://www.morgan-multimedia.com/RTP/
    but this is simply a filter, what I want is to use this filter in a virtual directshow device to make other programs use it.
    Is this somehow possible, and if yes, how?

Or is there a better implementation of directshow rtp?

thanks a lot

Jossi
    Monday, October 27, 2008 3:52 PM

Answers

All replies

• If are creating a GPL'd open source project, you can use VLC:

http://forums.microsoft.com/MSDN/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=4047927&SiteID=1

For a Virtual Cam implementation see my Downloads page through the link below.

Monday, October 27, 2008 4:25 PM
  • Could you clarify what you mean by "Use it like a webcam"
    First of all DirectShow is

Filter-based:
    A DirectShow graph consists of a bunch of filters that are connected in a pipeline: webcam manufacturers provide DirectShow source filters which I think is synonymous to the "virtual DirectShow device" you are referring to.
    Open up the GraphEdit tool and select "Graph->Insert Filters" and then select "Audio Capture Sources" or "Video Capture Sources", you'll see the DirectShow filter provided for your webcam (provided that you've installed one)

COM-based:
    Filter's can be registered using regsvr32 and can then be loaded using their GUIDs. This allows other programs to "use" any registered filters.
    Hence if you write a DirectShow filter you should be able to accomplish what you want.