none
(Urgent) need a VBA code to Dynamically increase or decrease the width of the shape according to the length of shape data (text) RRS feed

• Question

• hi Guys

i am completely new to VBA. it's two days which i have started studying & Learning VBA just for one pice of code. during these 2 days i have studied lots of hours & i have got headache now ! please help

i have stopped at the final part of my macro.

i have write a macro which cuts the word from the 1st line of the active document & pastes it in a user-created rectangle shape.

at the end, i need after pasted the text into that shape, the horizontal width of that rectangle be automatically resized to fit the length of word inside it.

please look at the following screenshot:

am i in the right way:

can len function help here? len calculates the lenght of the shape data (text insdie shape) & then set the width of the shape equals to text length plus for example 2 or 3 units?

please write me the code. i can't myself

thanks in advanced

• Edited by john.s2011 Tuesday, November 4, 2014 8:14 PM
    Tuesday, November 4, 2014 8:09 PM

Answers

• Hi John,

Based on the description, you want to set the shape width based on the width of text inside the shape. Have you tested to use "Wrap text in shape" like figure below?

As far as I tested, if we uncheck the option, the width of shape will fit the text's with. And here is the code for your reference:

Sub WrapTextInShape()
    Application.ActiveDocument.Shapes(2).TextFrame.WordWrap = False
    End Sub

Regards & Fei

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey.

• Marked as answer by john.s2011 Wednesday, November 5, 2014 10:06 AM
    Wednesday, November 5, 2014 9:21 AM

All replies

• hi Guys