none
WorksheetParts.First() not working RRS feed

• Question

• I am just getting started feeling my way through an export to Excel using Open XML.  At this point, I am just trying to open my ‘results’ excel file and set up the ‘parts’ and see if I can ‘export’ the copied file from my web page without trying to add any rows of data yet.  The variable 'results' contains the pathname of an excel file I have copied from a template.  The code, up through the line getting the error, is:

//Open the saved excel file that was created using template file.           

using(SpreadsheetDocumentmyDoc = SpreadsheetDocument.Open(resultsFile, true))

{

// Create reference of main Workbook part.   

WorkbookPartobjworkbook = myDoc.WorkbookPart;                

// pick up first worksheet 

WorksheetPartobjworksheet = objworkbook.WorksheetParts.First();

Visual Studio is underlining 'First' in red, and the error message says:

‘System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable<DocumentFormat.OpenXml.Packaging.WorksheetPart’ does not contain a definition for ‘First’ and no extension method ‘First’ accepting a first argument of type ‘System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable<DocumentFormat.OpenXml.Packaging.’ could be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)

I DO have the reference ‘DocumentFormat.XML’ included in the solution, and I DO have the additional ‘using’ references at the top of the c# file:

using DocumentFormat.OpenXml;

using DocumentFormat.OpenXml.Packaging;

using DocumentFormat.OpenXml.Spreadsheet;

Also, visual studio does appear to be recognizing other parts of the syntax, like SpreadsheetDocument and WorkbookPart, etc.

What am I missing?  I'd like to get the 'First' working; but what I'd really like to know how to do is reference the worksheet by name, as my file has two worksheets.  I found an example of code purporting to do this, but Visual Studio did not recognize that syntax either.

Thanks for your help.

Wednesday, December 23, 2015 7:17 PM