Making Excel(.xlsm) into .exe RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am wondering how to make .xlsm to .exe?

Since .xlsm is very powerful by using VBA to execute lots of procedures. If we could have a "make up" by displaying as .exe but not the familiar grids and sheets, that my workbook seems to be more persuasive. (some bosses say: com'on ~ Excel thing)

I am not sure am I posting the right place, hopefully somebody could offer me some suggestions.

P.S.: I am a moderate VBA writer but no experience at VB

Thank you very much and look for some useful suggestions.

Lawrence

Tuesday, October 4, 2016 12:27 PM

Answers

• Hi LawrenceMa,

I think you still have a misunderstanding.

you are talking about VB and I am talking about VB.Net or C#.Net.

also you had mentioned that your .xlsm file have complex algorithms and it looks like you still want to use them.

here I want to clear that if you try to develop VB.Net document level customization then you need to convert your VBA code to VB.Net or you can call your macro from VB.Net code.

then also when you open the file it will open in the Excel Application.

it will not create any stand alone exe file which can use without Excel.

so Excel Application is necessary. your code will not work without that.

so here I want to suggest you that you should know about the VSTO properly before starting any development.

Regards

Deepak  

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey.

Wednesday, October 5, 2016 7:45 AM

All replies

• Hi LawrenceMa,

you had mentioned that you want to make .xslm file to .exe file.

also you had mentioned that you had no experience of VB.

you can simply save your Excel file as an Addin.

so that you can use this addin file with other excel files.