none
Failed to install drivers for the Kinect RRS feed

• Question

• I just bought the Kinect for Windows and tried to follow the installation guide on the official website.

Because this is my first time to use the Kinect, I installed SDK v1.0 and then plugged the Kinect USB cable into my Win7 computer after connecting AC adaptor to a wall power outlet (I found that there was a green light on the cable when AC adaptor was connected).

At first, my computer detected a new device and tried to find device drivers automatically. But, after a few seconds, it showed an error box indicating that "there is unknown device, and cannot find drivers".

What I investigaed are as follows.

- When I look into the detailed information of the "unknown device" from the "device manager" window, I found that the new device has VID of "045E" and PID of "02C2".

- When I tried to install drivers manually through "add hardware wizard", the installed drivers didn't work, showing some error codes.

- When I made use of an "driver upgrade" function from the "unknown device" driver in the "device manager" window,  I succeeded in installing "Microsoft Kinect Device" driver, but still failed to install other drivers such as "Microsoft Kinect Camera", "Microsoft Kinect Audio Array Control", etc.

- While I have only one driver, "Microsoft Kinect Device", installed in my computer, I just tried to execute some applications such as "Kinect Explorer" or "Shape Game" from SDK samples. The "Kinect Explorer" showed the message of "USB\VID_045E&PID_02C2\....... Not Powered", and the "Shape Game" showed the message of "Plug My Power Cord In".

But, actually I plugged power adaptor and find out that the green led at the connector was on.

Should I request a repair now? If so, that's too bad because I just received it yesterday.

My computer has Windows 7 Professional 32-bit version (Korean), Intel Core2 Dual 2.5GHz, 4G RAM and  USB 2.0 ports(ICH8 chipsets).

Friday, February 24, 2012 6:22 PM

Answers