none
Azure loading files from Blob Storage that dont contain co

Question

• Hi,

Im new to data factory and Ive noticed that all of my examples for blob storage source data are for files that either sit in daily or monthly folders. Or data that is refreshed so data factory is taking for example hourly slices.

My situation is, we get files of data, (These files can be replaced with new files with updated metrics.

I just want to load the data into a snapshot table

Once loaded these files are removed from the folder ready for a new batch to be added

I'm not sure how to deal with this specific data example in Azure DF. What would the Start and End be in the pipeline. What would the interval and frequency be set to?

Debbie

Monday, October 15, 2018 3:19 PM

All replies

• I would love to help but don't quite understand the question you're asking.  Can you add more clarity to what you're trying to do with Blob storage via ADF?  Are you using ADFv1 or ADFv2?
    Monday, October 15, 2018 6:22 PM
  • Hi,

Based on your requirement you can have first copy data task and then a custom task in your pipeline to remove those files. Start Date, End date, frequency are use to trigger/schedule the pipeline and should be based on your requirement. 

Cheers,

Tuesday, October 16, 2018 3:21 AM
  • Let me have a go at attempting to explain this better

We download 5 files and store them in a Sharepoint folder. Each file is a months worth of data

The files contain metrics and these metrics can change every time we download them. So If the current month is October, we download October, September, August, July and June and there could be changes in all the files.

So currently I truncate a staging table and import all the records into this staging table.

Then the files get moved (Possibly into a dated historical folder)

Stored Procedures do the rest of the ETL processing to move the data into the main table.