Modify Bootstrap variable RRS feed

• Question

• User-1407020616 posted

Hi

Im just starting out with using Visual Studio to create a website.  I've selected the .net core MVC template which uses bootstrap .  Just figuring this out as I go.  I want to modify some of the layout and colours that the template uses - rather than start from scratch because it gives me a starting point to work from. </div> <div> </div> <div>i did some reading on how to modify the bootstrap formatting and it is advised not to modify it directly but use a custom.scss file to modify variables that the bootstrap uses.  I want to try stick to best practices so I am trying to make this work but I just cant get it to work.  Can anyone else advise what I am doing wrong?</div> <div> </div> <div>Using a guide I found online, I have created CustomBoot.scss with the following contents:

/* custom.scss */

/* import the necessary Bootstrap files */
    @import "bootstrap/variables";

/* -------begin customization-------- */

/* simply assign the value */

/* or, use an existing variable */
    $primary: #005190;

/* -------end customization-------- */

/* finally, import Bootstrap to set the changes! */
    @import "bootstrap";

I am using the following lines to reference the stylesheets:

<link rel="stylesheet" href="~/lib/bootstrap/CustomBoot.scss" />
        <link rel="stylesheet" href="~/lib/bootstrap/dist/css/bootstrap.min.css" />
        <link rel="stylesheet" href="~/css/site.css" />

Basically I am trying to modify the variable primary (which I believe/hope should change bg-primary) so that the nav bar will display with a different colour.

<nav class="navbar navbar-expand-sm navbar-toggleable-sm navbar-dark bg-primary border-bottom box-shadow mb-3">

It doesnt work unfortunately , hoping someone could point me in the right direction?

Thanks
    Dan

Thursday, February 18, 2021 4:32 PM

All replies

• User-474980206 posted