none
A global mutex-like ReaderWriterLock? RRS feed

• Question

• Forgive me if I posted in the wrong forum, but I didn't see one for discussions on multithreading...

I need a way to synchronize access across app domains (and multiple user/terminal sessions) a la global mutex, but I only need to block on writes a la ReaderWriterLock. I'm relatively new at this stuff, so I don't know how to do what I need or what to use. Reading this documentation, it appears that I need to use a Mutex or WaitHandle because of my need to have this work across app domains, but I like the idea of readers not being blocked until a write needs to be done.

Can I use the ReaderWriterLock(Slim) globally like the Mutex? If not, any suggestions on how to accomplish similar functionality using a Mutex or WaitHandle?

Tuesday, July 14, 2009 9:39 PM

All replies

• That's not how synchronization works, you cannot have thread-safe reads and only synchronized writes.  Not without some kind of dramatic advance in hardware.  ReadWriterLock blocks reads too, a call to AcquireReaderLock is required.  Since this crosses app domains, RWL is out, you need a named sync object.  Mutex should get the job done.
    Hans Passant.
    Wednesday, July 15, 2009 1:09 AM
  • The OP wants writers to block writers and readers, but readers should not block other readers.

I'm pretty sure its possible to emulate a reader/writer lock with mutexes and/or events somehow, but alas don't have any code to that effect to show.
    Wednesday, July 15, 2009 1:32 AM
  • Just use two mutexes.

Hans Passant.
    Wednesday, July 15, 2009 10:58 AM
  • That's not how synchronization works, you cannot have thread-safe reads and only synchronized writes.  Not without some kind of dramatic advance in hardware.  ReadWriterLock blocks reads too, a call to AcquireReaderLock is required.  Since this crosses app domains, RWL is out, you need a named sync object.  Mutex should get the job done.
    Hans Passant.