none
.NET FRAMEWORK PROBLEMS 3.5 SP 1 RRS feed

• Question

• Using Windows XP home edition sp3 and I can not download .NET FRAMEWORK 3.5 sp1. According to the Microsoft Site it will not work with my system. Is there any way around this other than uninstalling sp3 ? I'm not even sure this will work.

A scan of my computer also revealed that .NET FRAMEWORK 1.1 was installed incorectly, could this be a problem since 2 is suppose to be fine or at least no problem was mentioned in the scan ?

Saturday, June 2, 2012 4:00 AM

Answers

All replies

• I think everybody has run into this problem.  I know I have a did uninstall and reinstall 1.0, 2.0, 3.0, 3.5 a few times before getting rid of the errors.  I think there are easier wasy of fixing the problem but I'm not an expert on this.  One problem is the Net library sometimes gets installed when you load Visual Studio and other times gets loaded when you install the Net library manually.  Visual Studio will not load the Net library if it is already installed on the PC but may not work if the net library installation was done wrong or pieces are missing.

One thing you may try is to go to the windows Updates and make sure you have all the Net Library updates installed.  Also make sure you have 1.0, 2.0, and 3.0 installed and updated in your computer before installing 3.5.

jdweng

Saturday, June 2, 2012 6:33 AM
  • First, .NET Framework 3.5 SP1 IS supported on Windows XP SP2/3, so that's not your problem.

You don't mention exactly which download you tried to install, but there is a cumulative, intelligent, installer available that will apply all needed updates to .NET Framework 2.0/3.0/3.5 through 3.5 SP1.

Please use this verification tool to determine if .NET 2.0 is correctly installed on your system:

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/astebner/archive/2008/10/13/8999004.aspx

Run the tool with .NET 2.0 selected, then post the first 15 lines and last 15 lines of tool output here.