none
architectural solutions RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I've just been wondering about Interceptor architectural patterns. I'm actually a novice even in "ordinary" development, not saying about some architectural things. But just interesting...

Could somebody really tell me about the pattern in a few words. For my getting it fast.
    Friday, October 17, 2008 12:14 PM

Answers

• The events can be any number of things like, LoadSessionState (ASP.NET), Before a Message is Dispatch to the service (WCF) or before a method call (AOP).

For asp.net it's the ASP.NET runtime that invokes the events when a request is processed. For WCF it's the WCF runtime that invokes the events and for AOP frameworks it's some kind of object container. ¨

In short it's another piece of code that works as a container for the code that you want intercepted. The CLR doesn't have such a mechanism publicly available for developers to use, so if you want to use it you need to eiter build your own object runtime on top of the CLR, like Spring.NET does for AOPish things, or utilize interception mechanisms from other parts of the framework like the ContextBound object from remoting och WCF.

Friday, October 17, 2008 5:44 PM

All replies

• Basically the idea is to intercept any incoming messages or method calls and do stuff with parameters or messages before they get passed down to what was actually called.

An example is the ASP.NET HTTP Module model where the http request get's intercepted by the statemanger, asp.net authorization providers etc before the request gets to your page and code.

You can read more about the background and implementation of the pattern here:

http://java.sun.com/blueprints/corej2eepatterns/Patterns/InterceptingFilter.html

Friday, October 17, 2008 12:38 PM