none
GC doesn't free up memory RRS feed

• Question

• I have got two PCs. They differ in performance, memory, etc, but both are XP SP2 machines running .NET Framework 2.0. I am working on a VB.NET application, using VS 2005.

When I run my application on one PC (the old one), it seems to work. But when I run the exact same application on the other PC, it runs about a minute and then it runs out of memory. How is this possible?

I have basic knowledge about the GC, but still cannot figure out the difference in behaviour. Let's assume I consume unmanaged memory in my application (I use third party libraries that are SUPPOSED to be managed). But then the memory shouldn't be deallocated by the GC on the first PC, right?

On the machine where things seem to work, the auto GC runs like every 10 sec (gen 0).
    On the machine where things does not work, it runs once after like 10 secs and not again until the app crashes.

The objects that are created, at a rate of approx 1 per sec, are quite large, about 15-20 MB. They must be since they consist of image data that are analysed. But they are truly temporary and run out of scope at the End Sub statement. And it is not like the GC does not keep up in speed, because on the old, low-performance machine with less memory, everything works.

If I run GC.Collect(0) once a sec, it keeps memory usage at a steady level on both machines. But this isn't good practice...

So I am confused. Could the .NET CLR have become corrupt on the second PC? I have run the repair procedure on the .NET Framework 2.0, without any improvement.

Thanks.

A former Javaman
    Monday, December 8, 2008 1:46 PM

Answers

• Large objects (> 85 K) go to the Large Object Heap (LOH), and they are on Generation 2. Only with generation 2 (full collections) will memory be decommitted to the OS.  So clearing Gen0 does no good in this case. Take a look at the LoH article below for the list of conditions that will cause automatic collection.