none
Splitting a DataSet's rows among two locations? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to ADO.NET and would like to show a DataGridView with a table showing rows from two places:
    1. A SQL Server database
    2. A local XML file.
    The user can add, delete and edit rows. There is a checkbox column labeled "In database?" that controls in which location the row is stored.

How can I split the dataset among two places?

Note: the table is small enough to keep all rows in memory ("SELECT *")

Also, I am curious how to assign a unique primary key to new rows. And do rows in an XML file need a unique PK?
    Tuesday, March 18, 2008 6:33 PM

Answers

• It sounds as though what you're trying to do is load data from two sources into the same DataTable, and let the user decide which ones get saved in the database and which ones get saved in the XML.  This is fine as long as the two sources use the same set of columns (except for the "InDatabase" column, whose value is implicit).

It's very straightforward to build a DataTable that reads and updates information in a SQL Server table, so I'd start with that.  PK assignment in those cases is a solved problem (googling "autonumber" "tableadapter" "identity" "primary key" will find any number of discussions of how to do this).  I'd make the InDatabase column nullable and default to True; having done that, when you call Fill or GetData, all of the rows will be in the correct state.

Now, how do you get rows out of the XML document ?  By loading them into a separate DataTable, and then adding new rows to your main DataTable for each row in this DataTable.  If the schemas are identical, you can just create a new row in your main DataTable and load its ItemArray from the ItemArray of the row in your work table, making sure that you set InDatabase to False for each row you add.  Then, after you add the row - this is very important - you call AcceptChanges() on the row, to set its RowState to DataRowState.Unchanged.