Failure - FailedDbOperation - Microsoft.DataTransfer.Common.Shared.HybridDeliveryException RRS feed

• Question

• I am just getting started with a Azure Datawarehouse and I would like to use the Azure Data Factory to load the data from an Azure SQL Database to the DW in the same resource group.

The simplest of scenarios I believe as I am using the autocreate feature to create the table in the DW. I can see a succesful connections, table gets created but no data is created as it fails with the following:

Copy activity encountered a user error: ErrorCode=FailedDbOperation,'Type=Microsoft.DataTransfer.Common.Shared.HybridDeliveryException,Message=Error happened when loading data into SQL Data Warehouse.,Source=Microsoft.DataTransfer.ClientLibrary,''Type=System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException,Message=Conversion failed when converting from a character string to uniqueidentifier.,Source=.Net SqlClient Data Provider,SqlErrorNumber=8169,Class=16,ErrorCode=-2146232060,State=2,Errors=[{Class=16,Number=8169,State=2,Message=Conversion failed when converting from a character string to uniqueidentifier.,},],'.

As I am creating the schema based on the source, I am guessing there is something else happening. How can I begin to diagnose as I do not see how to access the detail of the pipeline?   

In case it is helpful:

Cheers, Jeff

Wednesday, April 11, 2018 11:13 PM

Answers

• The specific error is: Conversion failed when converting from a character string to uniqueidentifier 

I also see that it appears you are trying to load 'dbo' schema (select * from [dbo].[Users]).

Here is a 'How-To' document that walks you through the process of migrating data from SQL Database to SQL Data Warehouse using Azure Data Factory: Load data into Azure SQL Data Warehouse by using Azure Data Factory

The following could be used to verify and troubleshoot any schema issues before kicking things off with Azure Data Factory: Data Warehouse Migration Utility (Preview)

Regards,

Mike