Creating a progressive video player with SMF 2.5 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

I'm new to silverlight development; I'm coming over from flash and so far I've been struggling to learn silverlight.  I've tried working with Visual Studio to create my first silverlight app, a progressive video player, but I wasn't having luck with that at all.  Now I am trying out MS Expressions Blend 4 + SMF 2.5 to create a basic video player, and I"m still having problems.

Main problem: I can create the pre-made SMFPlayer in Blend4, and I can have it work fine with adaptive streaming videos (...ssm/manifest), but when I try to load a local or progressive media source (/video.wmv), it doesn't load the video.

I am a bit confused, because I simply change the playlist mediasource to a local WMV or MP4 file, and change the delivery method from adaptive streaming to progressiveDownload ...  and hit run, but no video playback.  really odd IMO.

I am using the trial version of Expression Blend 4; I've tried WMV and MP4 h264 video files with no luck.

What am I doing wrong?  I am feel very frustrated by this little problem and have been stuck for a while now.  Thank you for any possible help.

-steve

Thursday, June 2, 2011 12:29 AM

Answers

• I'm not very familiar with the SMFPlayer itself, but it sounds like this might be an issue with the videos not being accessible to the SL app. SL in general can't access the loca file system. Are the videos in the .xap file or at least in the same directory as the .xap file?
    • Marked as answer by xyster Thursday, June 2, 2011 3:33 AM
    Thursday, June 2, 2011 1:57 AM

All replies

• I'm not very familiar with the SMFPlayer itself, but it sounds like this might be an issue with the videos not being accessible to the SL app. SL in general can't access the loca file system. Are the videos in the .xap file or at least in the same directory as the .xap file?
    • Marked as answer by xyster Thursday, June 2, 2011 3:33 AM