none
For Each row in Excel, Create word Document based on template and populate data RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have created several VBA projects over the years and i am now looking at converting some of these to VSTO to make it easier to deploy and enhance them. I am using Office 2010 and Visual Studio 2010 and can am able to use VB or C# for development.

What i would like is to have an excel spreadsheet with data and a button. When the button is clicked it loops through each row of data on the spreadsheet and creates a new word document based on a template and populates bookmarks with the data from the excel row.

Once i have this working i would then hookup custom properties in to the word document, eg Version Number, and Current State of document (as the document will go through several processes)

Could anyone point me in the right direction or offer any help on how i might achieve this. I am extremely new to VSTO so i am trying to learn by using projects that are relevant to me and not just Hello Word samples.

Many Thanks

Jason

Friday, February 15, 2013 12:59 PM

Answers

• Hi Jason

Before you dig in, I feel I should mention that there are alternative, and much more efficient options to do what you propose.

1. Open XML (SDK), working with the closed files for both Excel and Word

2. Open XML on the Word side; OLE DB connection on the Excel side

3. Use content controls in Word instead of bookmarks, in any case

If you really want to do it the way you describe, VB.NET code will essentially be the same as VBA code as far as the manipulation of Word and Excel goes, with some small adjustments. Do you already have this in VBA?

On the VSTO side, you'd use the VSTO technology to create the UI in the Ribbon and hook it up to your code. Here's your starting point:
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb386097.aspx